Live.Laugh.Love

Summertime Sadness

This song really intrigues me as I can feel all the emotions behind the lyrics and how in a sad and twisted way, I could relate to all the hidden meanings behind the lyrics as I guess it nearly happened to me.

Kiss me hard before you go
Summertime sadness
I just wanted you to know
That, baby, you’re the best
Kiss me hard for one last time before we say our goodbyes to each other forever. I know I messed up big time and there is nothing I can do to rectify that mistake I made. This relationship is one that I’ll remember for the rest of my life and its probably gonna be one of the best I am ever going to have.
I got my red dress on tonight
Dancing in the dark in the pale moonlight
Done my hair up real big beauty queen style
High heels off, I’m feeling alive
I remember every little detail about you, even till today. I still remember that dress, that scarf-like dress, that you absolutely love. You always can’t seem to get your hands off me whenever I wear that dress – you said I looked like an angel wearing that, your own personal angel. I love how I can be myself around you, makeup off, heels off, hair down and we would just enjoy a day of doing nothing but just laying in your arms and talking for hours.
Unfortunately, I can’t have that anymore. My mask is on ever since I lost you. Appearing happy in front of everyone else when in fact, most of the time its just all fake smiles to not let everyone worry. Yes, I managed to meet new people and make new friends but sometimes all I crave for is for time to turn back.
Oh, my God, I feel it in the air
Telephone wires above are sizzling like a snare
Honey, I’m on fire, I feel it everywhere
Nothing scares me anymore
Sometimes I still feel you around me, like you are still protecting me from afar although I know you are not. I’ve never felt pain in such way before, so much so that I can feel like heart being ripped into a million pieces and I have to slowly piece it back myself, and honestly, I don’t know how to. I have never felt so painful in my life and I don’t think anything can top this kind of pain that I’m feeling. Even 8 months after, I’m still feeling the pain. It hurts so bad that I cry every single time I think about it. I don’t know when I’ll ever be able to recover. I don’t know if I’d be able to commit myself into another relationship because I’m so afraid.

(1, 2, 3, 4)

Kiss me hard before you go
Summertime sadness
I just wanted you to know
That, baby, you’re the best

I got that summertime, summertime sadness
S-s-summertime, summertime sadness
Got that summertime, summertime sadness
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh

I’m feelin’ electric tonight
Cruising down the coast goin’ ’bout 99
Got my bad baby by my heavenly side
I know if I go, I’ll die happy tonight
The darkest part for me was when I was in China and everything just sort of hit me full force. Worse thing was I had all these suicidal thoughts in my mind thinking that there is no point in living anymore. I see no point then. I thought since I couldn’t be your angel, I wanted to be your guardian angel. I did all those stupid things that would deem me as mentally unstable. All these thought are gone now but deep down inside, I’m still hurting.

Oh, my God, I feel it in the air
Telephone wires above are sizzling like a snare
Honey, I’m on fire, I feel it everywhere
Nothing scares me anymore

(1, 2, 3, 4)

Kiss me hard before you go
Summertime sadness
I just wanted you to know
That, baby, you’re the best

I got that summertime, summertime sadness
S-s-summertime, summertime sadness
Got that summertime, summertime sadness
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh

Think I’ll miss you forever
Like the stars miss the sun in the morning sky
Later’s better than never
Even if you’re gone I’m gonna drive (drive, drive)
I’ll miss you forever, no doubt, but I came to realise there are more things in life than to go down this one way road to destruction. I don’t know when I’d be able to really move on. 8 months has past and I’m still trying, its so hard I’m on the verge of giving up. Every time I see people posting couple photos on IG made me sad for that split moment.
I failed to see what you wanted in a relationship. All I cared about was myself and my privacy. I didn’t like posting all the photos of us online, all the changing of statues but I failed to see that you actually liked things like this. I failed to be a good girlfriend to you. Maybe I’ll never be a good girlfriend, I’m just not girlfriend material maybe.
I see you’ve got a new girl now. All the best and I hope she’s good to you.

I got that summertime, summertime sadness
S-s-summertime, summertime sadness
Got that summertime, summertime sadness
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh

Kiss me hard before you go
Summertime sadness
I just wanted you to know
That, baby, you’re the best

I got that summertime, summertime sadness
S-s-summertime, summertime sadness
Got that summertime, summertime sadness
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh

This entry was published on September 24, 2014 at 03:26 and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Summertime Sadness

  1. The imposter on said:

    Hi, I understand how you are feeling! Reading this makes me kinda remember my past relationship>_< But I can't deny that you received one of the best partner in life!
    Honestly speaking, it is too late to regret! You don't write off the possibility of having a really good boyfriend and husband in the near future! Anything is possible! Just keep your heads up and I am sure you are able to fight it! The way you express yourself makes me picture you like an stronger girl from then! I am sure you can do it! Don't ever give up on yourself because it's not you letting yourself down but your love ones who have always been there for you 🙂 stay young and happy 🙂

    • Hey there, thanks a million 😀 I’m slowly moving on from it and hopefully one day, I’ll really be able to look back at this in memory and smile. I hope everything is fine on your side as well 🙂

      Cheers 😀

Leave a Reply

